The annual dinner is one of the social highlights of the year for the club, and has been (almost) every year since 1976.

CHIG Annual Dinner locations and guests

2011Cafe Rouge, LoughtonPeter AdamsEpping Forest Verderer
2010Cafe Rouge, LoughtonDave SimmsGunpowder Mills, Waltham Abbey
2009Anton's , Great HallingburyLaura Slater & Adam MaherNational Trust staff, Hatfield Forest
2008not held
2007Cricket Clubhouse, SawbridgeworthMat RobertsSuperintendent of Epping Forest Conservators
2006Butlers Retreat, ChingfordMike HamiltonBOF Chief Executive (40 year Anniversary)
2005Butlers Retreat, ChingfordJohn Pearce, CHIGAntarctic Expedition
2004Clocktower Restaurant, OngarKen Bray, CHIGWitness to Roger Bannister 4-min mile 50 years ago (May 1954)
2003Clocktower Restaurant, OngarSimon and Helen Errington, LOKChairman BOF Event Standards Committee
2002Butlers Retreat, ChingfordJeremy WisenfeldSuperintendent of Epping Forest Conservators
2001Butlers Retreat, ChingfordVanessa LawrenceDirector General, Ordnance Survey
2000Magpie's Nest, Bell CommonDave Thomas, SNFormer SEOA and BOF Chairman
1999The Barn, White RodingAlan Rosen, HHIOF Controller
1998The Barn, White RodingTim Pugh, GOCompetition Director, WOC Scotland 1997
1997Butlers Retreat, ChingfordRonan and Julie Cleary, LOKIreland Team Manager, Ireland International
1996Café Rouge, LoughtonKeith and Susan Marsden, HHSE Junior Squad coaches
1995The Barn, White RodingGraham PribulHon club auditor
1994Upshire Village Hall, UpshireNick EadeHead Keeper, Epping Forest Conservators
1993Monkhams Hall, Waltham AbbeyAnne Braggins, WAOCFormer BOF chairman
1992Monkhams Hall, Waltham AbbeyKen Bray, CHIGHimalayan trek
1991Adventuress, River StortMichael Brandon, CHIGFounder member (25 year Anniversary)
1990Gilbeys, HarlowNorman Harris, SNJournalist and past SEOA chairman
1989Gilbeys, HarlowSarah Brown, SLOWVegetarian cook and author
1988Gilbeys, HarlowArthur Boyt, HH (now of KERNO)Epicure extraordinaire
1987Gilbeys, HarlowClarissa Napier, NORFormer CHIG member, mapper, controller
1986Gilbeys, HarlowTony Thornley, DVO'O' guru, author 'Orienteering for the Young'
1985Middlesex PolySue HarveyIOF and Harvey Mapping
1984Middlesex PolyNed Paul, SLOWCompassSport Editor
1983Roebuck Hotel, Buckhurst HillKen Broad, WREUltrasport proprietor
1982Treetops Hotel, EppingPeter Billingshurst, SAXSAXONS - Ightham liaison
1981Treetops Hotel, EppingGerry Arber, HAVOCHAVOC founder
1980Chasneys, ChingfordBob Cheesewright, BKOSC80 Controller
1979Chasneys, ChingfordJohn BesentSuperintendent of Epping Forest Conservators
1978Chasneys, ChingfordNorman Harris, SNSunday Times journalist and author
1977Treetops Hotel, EppingToby Norris, MVBOF Vice-Chairman
1976Treetops Hotel, EppingMichael Brandon, CHIGRetiring Chairman and founder member (10 year Anniversary)

Keep an eye out for details of next year’s dinner in the late autumn / early winter.