Handicap Trophy

The Handicap Trophy may be won by any CHIG who competes in his or her right class at the Club Championships.  However, you have to complete at least five qualifying events in the period between Club Championships to be eligible for it.

Qualifying Events

BOF are in the middle of redefining event statuses at present, so it is not easy to give a precise definition of a qualifying event, but they include:-

a) the previous Club Championship
b) any CompassSport Cup match
c) any SWELL event
d) any event in the South East League or Galoppen
e) any other event inside or outside the South East where at least five CHIGs finish, and which is at least of similar or higher standard

This last category will usually include the JK, the British Championships, and quite a lot of events in adjacent regions – in fact, there are usually between twenty and thirty qualifying events each year, so getting five runs in is not hard.
Events which do not count are sprint events, relay legs, informal events and any non-standard event, such as Score Events.


John Duffield keeps track of the results, and calculates mins/k for each run, and then calculates an average mins/k based on all your runs except the fastest and slowest. He then uses this speed to calculate an expected time for you at the Club Championships, and the CHIG who finishes in the lowest percentage of their expected time wins (unless they also win one of the Open Trophies, in which case they are deemed non-competitive for the Handicap Trophy).  The format ensures that the better orienteers do not stand a better chance of winning because they are better; it is the CHIG who shows the most improvement on their normal running on the day who wins.  In fact, the results show that the better orienteers seldom win the Handicap Trophy, because they run consistently well; the Trophy is usually won by someone who is a variable performer, then has a day at the Club Championships when it all goes right!

For the up-to-date-position, click here.  The table shows the number of events you have completed, your provisional average speed of you have completed fewer than five events, your current handicap average speed if you have completed five or more events, the standard deviation of your speeds, and details of all the qualifying events.

The standard deviation is a measure of how consistent a runner you are.  The lower the value, the more you tend to run at about the same speed – and the less likely you are to win the Handicap Trophy.
For any queries or comments, please contact John Duffield.

Venues & Organisers

Club Championship Organisers
Year Location Organiser
1966 Hainault M Brandon
1967 Ightham M Brandon
1968 Knole Park M Brandon
1969 Wormley Wood M Brandon
1970 Epping SW T Pribul
1971 Epping NE Brandon/Pribul
1972 Northaw M Brandon
1973 Ightham M Brandon
1974 Hadley Wood T Pribul
1975 Epping NE R Campbell
1976 Thorndon Park I Andrews
1977 Epping E T Pribul
1978 Hatfield Forest P Pearson
1979 Epping NE M Brandon
1980 Epping E T Pribul
1981 Weald Park N Burvill
1982 Epping NW C Pearce
1983 Epping SW A Kerr
1984 Thorndon Park T Pribul
1985 Epping E J/C Pearce
1986 Wintry Wood T Pribul
1987 Hainault J/D Pritchard
1988 Epping N T Pribul
1989 Hainault J/C Pearce
1990 Epping SW Wormald/Shipley
1991 Epping E J/C Pearce
1992 Epping NW T Pribul
1993 Hainault A Maycraft
1994 Epping E T Pribul
1995 Epping NW C Pearce
1996 Hainault A Maycraft
1997 Epping E T Pribul
1998 Epping E K Runesson
1999 Epping NW I Whisson
2000 Epping E J Ashton
2001 Epping SW T Pribul
2002 Epping NW J Pearce
2003 Hainault M Ford
2004 Epping E I Whisson
2005 Epping E C Flint
2006 Epping N
J Pearce
2007 Mardley Heath K Lutsenko
2008 Highfield Park (St Albans)
J Green
2009 Broxbourne Woods M Ford
2010 Epping NW Robert Campbell
2011 Thorndon Country Park North HAVOC event
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply