British Sprint Orienteering Championships 2016

Click to view map
11 June 2016 @ 10:00 am – 2:00 pm
Queen Elizabeth II Olympic Park
London E15
Entries open 1 March 2016
Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 21.25.42
The British Orienteering Sprint Championships 2016 are being held on Saturday 11th June at Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, Stratford, East London. The race will be part of the UK Orienteering League.
On the following day, the British Orienteering Middle Distance Championships will be held on Leith Hill, near Dorking, Surrey. Leith Hill is within the Surrey Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The race is also part of the UK Orienteering League, giving an opportunity for a weekend of quality orienteering in the South East. Click here for a link to the British Middle Distance Championships website


Entries for the British Sprints and British Middle Distance Championships are by pre-entry only and can be made at from 1st March 2016.

Entries close at midnight on Sunday 22nd May 2016.

No non-Championship courses will be offered.


The British Sprint Championships are open to members of the British Orienteering Federation and to members of IOF affiliated Federations. See Competition Rule C: British Sprint Orienteering Championships for further information on eligibility to be a British Champion.

Important information

Please note that, in line with Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park event policy, car parking will not be offered for the Sprint Championships. Stratford is a major transport hub for main line trains, London Underground and Overground, DLR and buses. Stratford International is also served by mainline high speed services and the DLR. For further information visit .

Start Times

Start times are expected to be over a window of between 60 and 75 minutes. The first start time for the Qualifying race will probably be 11am, but may move to an earlier time, at the earliest 10am. There will not be a start time option for competitors.

All start times will be allocated after 22nd May 2016 and expected to be published on 30th May 2016. 

Seeding information

The Elite Steering Committee will be allocating start times for all seeded M/W18, M/W20 and M/W21 in the Men and the Women Open Class.

For all other classes, excluding M and W10, start times will be in reverse order of ranking in class blocks. For juniors the start order will be random except that those on the Junior seeding list will be at the end of the class block.


Depending upon the helper’s role, start times may be fixed or open; we will aim to accommodate all those wishing to compete and will determine the options once teams and roles are finalised.

Entry Fees

The entry fees are:

Early entry (by 17th April)  Standard entry (by 22nd May) 
Seniors (M/W21+) on Championship courses £20.50


Juniors (M/W20-) on Championship course £10.00 £12.50

SI card hire is an additional £1.

Course and class information

Anticipated Course and Class combinations (based on 2015 participation)

Course Number Men Women



M16, M35, M40, M45





M14, M55

W16, W35



W40, W45, W50


M12, M65, M70

W14, W55


M75, M80

W12, W60, W65, W70, W75, W80




It is hoped that a free Xplorer activity will be available.


Before 22nd May changes to entries may be made by the logging into


The event is covered by the standard British Orienteering major events Cancellation Procedure and Policy and Cancellation, Curtailment and Refund Policy, except that the following terms will apply to cancellation by competitors.

If a participant wishes to cancel an entry they should contact the Entries Secretary: .

The refund for both the Sprints and the Middle Distance will be the entry fee minus £4 per senior and £3 per junior to cover fees and administration.

Competitors cancelling their entry after 22nd May will receive no refund.


Planners Mike Elliot (MV); Andy Robinson (SLOW);

Tom Edelsten (CHIG)

Organiser Tim Pribul (CHIG)
Controller Steve McKinley (SN)